Home > Uncategorized > The Bible Has Mistakes

The Bible Has Mistakes

On visitation I’ve sometimes heard people question the accuracy of the Bible as the basis for not believing it. I’ve approached this and seen it approached different ways, but here is one I haven’t yet tried:

I can understand why the accuracy of the Bible is important and I would disagree about it having mistakes.  I read the Bible every day and have read it in entirety several times.  I have yet to find any mistakes in it, but let me ask you to think about this.  Why is it important to you that the Bible not have mistakes in it in order to be trusted?  I venture that it is important to you because truth is important to you.  You don’t want to put your trust in something that is not true.  The interesting thing is that this is a moral statement and only makes sense when there is a God who determines what is true and what is false.  If the universe is governed by random chance processes, then not only can matter come in and out of existence, but so can truth.

God did not leave us to wonder.  He said…

  Romans 1:20   For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse:

 John 17:17   Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.

We can know truth.  God has revealed the truth of himself in his creation and in his word, it is up to us whether we will accept it or not. 

  John 14:6   Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

 

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

